We have prepared a virtual message board for Dan – click below to add your well wishes and congratulations!

Please consider making a gift to the BEF in Dan’s honor! At his request, donations honoring Dan’s Sperber Award will be allocated toward funding SEED and other programs that promote educational equity, which is at the center of Dan’s practice and legacy.

Congratulations to Dan Bresman,

Director of the School Within A School program at BHS

Winner of the 2023 Sperber Award!

The 2023 recipient of the Robert I. Sperber award was chosen from Brookline’s talented pool of Principals and Vice Principals, Head of School  and Assistant Head of School, Deans and Associate Deans, Elementary Curriculum Coordinators, and BHS Curriculum and Program Coordinators.

Guidelines/Nominations Procedures: Any teacher, administrator, parent or Brookline citizen, with the exception of the Superintendent, Deputy Superintendents, Assistant Superintendent, and the Brookline School Committee, may submit nominations.

  • Nominees should exhibit exceptional leadership qualities and have contributed significantly to the Public Schools of Brookline.
  • Only administrators with seven (7) or more years of service in Brookline, not all of which need be administrative, are eligible.
  • Nominations should be submitted in the form of a written letter. This letter should not exceed 2000 words and must include information about the nominee’s background, history in the Public Schools of Brookline, professional development activities, skills and achievements, and contributions to Brookline schools and beyond. The nomination letter should integrate testimony and anecdotes from various sources.
  • Up to but no more than five (5) supporting letters from colleagues, outside experts, parents, or students may be attached to the nomination letter.

Click here to watch a video recording of the award presentation event, including video and live testimonials to Dan, and an inspiring speech from Dan himself accepting the award.

The Sperber Award was presented to Dan Bresman at a special ceremony on Friday, October 20, at 5:30 pm at the Brookline High School STEM Commons.

Some photos from the wonderful Sperber presentation event! credit to Artemisia Luk

History of the BEF’s Robert I. Sperber Award

In 1998, an award was inaugurated in honor of Dr. Robert Sperber, to be given once every five years to an administrator in the Brookline Public Schools who best exemplifies his ideals. Dr. Sperber was Superintendent of Schools in Brookline from 1964 to 1982. This award honors an educator who evinces excellence in both administrative management and strong leadership skills that have brought about positive improvement in the school system. These are ideals that Dr. Sperber espoused and practiced.

Award Recipients

2018: Janet MacNeil, former Pre-K to 8 Science Curriculum Coordinator

2013: Vicki C. Milstein, Principal of Brookline Early Education Programs

2008: Dr. Robert Weintraub, former Headmaster at Brookline High School

2003: Barbara Shea, former Lincoln School Principal

1998: William Grady, former Director of the BHS Opportunity for Change Program